You know I love you more than my luggage!

This beautiful sunshine yellow fabric introduced itself to me and said “Take me home and make me into something beautiful.”  I said, “Okay.”  In November I treated myself by taking the Intermediate Machine Sewing Skills class at Craft Akron.  Craft Akron is a lovely studio in the Merriman Valley of Akron, Ohio offering classes and lessons in a variety of crafts…and I do mean variety!  Check out the Classes and Workshops page for the current schedule!

The project for the sewing class I took was this lovely purse.   I’m really rather proud of it and had such a good time learning the skills involved.  I’d never done a zipper like that or a buttonhole for a key loop.  Great ideas and the instructor Martha is patient, knowledgeable and so fun.  It’s just the right size for all my stuff and a couple diapers to boot!  I’m so glad to have downsized from my mondo-momma-bag and to something so cute.

I’ll be making a second bag for myself out of the Sunshine Yellow fabric and will be so ready to use it this Spring when the weather warms up.  The pattern only calls for a half yard of fabric for the outside and another half yard for the lining.  I’d love to make another one out of this fabric and put it out in the barn for a sale in the spring.  Look for it there!

When the seasons do change over what will you look forward to pulling out and wearing or using?  Is it a springtime skirt or your favorite sandals?  Or even that smiley face umbrella that helps lift your spirits during the rainy spring?  Let me know!

6 thoughts on “You know I love you more than my luggage!

  1. Ooh! I’ve been wanting to take that class series! I found out about it when I was too late in the pregnancy game to be able to confidently schedule a class. Now I just have to wait until she can go a few hours without me. Maybe April will be the ticket for me (6 mos). Have you taken any of there other classes?

  2. Love the yellow fabric and the bag pattern. My favorite thing to wear in the spring is my coral trench coat. I can’t help but be in a good mood when wearing it, and I get a lot of compliments on it too 🙂 “You know I love you more than my luggage” is from Steel Magnolias one of my favorite movies. It always makes me cry, no it’s more like bawl my eyes out!

  3. Spring? What’s spring? Oh, yeah when it gets warm and the world turns green! What makes me feel like spring? Finally being able to wear sandals—even if it is with jeans and a jacket. Once my feet are free, I’m a happy woman. (Can you tell I hate shoes!?!?!) 🙂

  4. I have yet to take any other classes! But I know I will be, they are so well done and I’ve learned so much!

Comments are closed.