Day One: Candles!

I finally made candles!  I have been saving chunks of wax from old candles for SO long with the intention of making new candles.  Today I did just that!  I’ve been spending a lot of time on crafting blogs and websites looking at other peoples work, getting ideas, following tutorials.  But for the candles I just jumped in and figured it out on my own.

The Candle Melting Pot- $0.75 at the thrift store

A simple glass votive and a stand up wick

My Very First Candle

I’m making progress!

Little tea lights!

Is this your first visit to the Barn?  Welcome and come on in.  Take a look at the About Page to get to know me better.  Make sure to watch the progress of the Barn and always keep a look out for an upcoming sale.  We’d love for you to stop by!

4 thoughts on “Day One: Candles!

  1. Those look great. I love remelting wax. I can’t tell in your pictures, are you using a double boiler to melt the wax? I know that it is possible to catch the pot on fire when melting wax over direct heat, so I was told to do it in a double boiler.

    I love how it is obvious your popsicle sticks are not craft sticks, but actual sticks from popsicles. 😉

  2. Thanks! I chose not to do a double boiler. My new stove has a precision simmer burner…very lowest heat output. I put it on that and put a VERY LITTLE amount of wax in for each batch. This way I could watch how hot the wax and pot got. As with any project involving heat I was very aware of what I was doing and I NEVER left the stove or pot unattended. It worked and I’m happy with the results!
    The popsicle sticks are William’s favorite way of supporting his mommy’s crafting habit! We eat them year round!

  3. I love your dedication to the candle bits 🙂 Fantastic!!

    And the scarf definitely counts as repurposing…especially since it came from a Thrift Store!

    I’m so looking forward to seeing your creations…I love the earth and crafting so I naturally adore your blog 🙂 Can’t wait for the sale!

  4. Have you burned any yet? How did they work?

    I should starting saving candle bits, it seems a shame to throw them out.

Comments are closed.