Two for One Wood Sign

Sunflowers are one of my favorite flowers.  They smile at you!  It doesn’t get better than that.  When I saw this sign for less than $3 at the thrift store I knew I would make it work SOMEWHERE in my house.  The kitchen won and I’ve enjoyed in there ever since.  Then winter came and it felt a little strange having such a large summer sign in a prominent place in the house.  Especially with the snowmen that decorate the kitchen peering down from the above shelf!  So what’s the winter equivalent of sunflowers…Snowflakes!  That’s when this next project came together.

To start, I took the hooks off the back of the sign.

Primed it white.

Dry brush painted it with blue (the color of the ceiling in my boys room).

And added a second layer of dry brushing using the wall color of the kitchen.  Even though this makes the sign the same color as the wall it’s hanging on the layer of blue underneath helps it stand out.

With the background drying my helper, William, and I hit the computer to pick out the lettering.

I used a technique I learned on the that’s my letter blog.  Real genius! 

I kept the letters plain white and I’m glad I did.  It just makes them stand out even more!

So now the kitchen feels more seasonally correct and it didn’t cost me a thing.  I get to decorate for different seasons without having to store things in between.  I think we’ll add some two for one signs to the Barn inventory.  What do you think?

