DIY Play Kitchen Ideas

One of our winter projects included creating a creative play space for my boys.

A friend of ours found this counter for us and we’ve used half of it for a kitchen area.  The boys have had fun fixing soup and ice cream.  But I thought it needed a little something more.  A window…every kitchen needs a window!

First, I was going to use a picture frame, but then I came across this wooden crate from a set of toys.

I painted it up with a lovely blue sky and some clouds!

Next it just needed some curtains.

I think it looks great and really brought the kitchen together.

We had also been hoping to add a sink and stove.  Luckily I was able to repurpose things I already had- a shallow pan for the sink, yogurt lids for the burners and film canister lids for the knobs.  Yes, film canister lids.  I still have a collection of film canisters.  For those of you who have only lived in the digital age of cameras you can google film and get a history lesson.

The only piece missing was the faucet.  I was surprised to find out we didn’t have a spare lurking in the basement.  Everything in our basement lurks…it’s a cave.  Well a trip to Habitat for Humanity ReStore solved that.  If you haven’t been it is worth the trip.  Located on Romig Road across from Rolling Acres Mall (or what used to be Rolling Acres Mall…talk about depressing).  According to the website:


“Habitat’s ReStore
resale outlets sell reusable and surplus building materials to the public

While every ReStore outlet is a little different, most focus on home improvement goods like furniture, home accessories, building materials and appliances.

ReStore resale outlets accept donated goods which are sold to the general public at a fraction of the retail price. The proceeds help local Habitat affiliates fund the construction of Habitat homes within their communities.

According to me it is a wealth of possibility!  I found a PERFECT faucet for just $5.  With a few simple modifications we will be able to “install” it into the kitchen counter.

I also picked up a cabinet door for $0.50!  I’m hoping to paint it up and make it into a chalkboard!

Oh and one more goody from the kids’ kitchen…kid sized washcloths.  A few of these will be available at the Spring Barn Sale.  Just as usable as the regular sized ones, these are the perfect size for pretend play or for helping out with the chores.


One thought on “DIY Play Kitchen Ideas

Comments are closed.