Around the Barn- Vanessa the Admiral

There was an absolute explosion of Red Admiral Butterflies around the Barn these last few weeks.  I have a special place in my heart for this butterfly as it is the first species I looked up on my own as a young naturalist.  There were two of them swirling and dancing over the garden of my childhood home.  I could barely get a look at them as they landed for mere seconds before flitting off again.  It was a good challenge for picking up field markings.  Their presence is just one of the many things that brings Spring to my heart.

  • Red Admiral Butterfly
  • Vanessa atalanta
  • 1 3/4″- 3″ wingspan
  • Caterpillar host plants are generally in the nettle family
  • Adult foods include sap flows, fermenting fruit (hello compost pile), and bird droppings
