File it away…smart fabric storage

I don’t buy any of my fabric.  Seriously, I haven’t bought anything off a bolt in at least four years.  Once people find out you craft for a living they beat down your door to give you their scraps or cast offs.  Or they don’t knock at all and just leave it on your front porch.

Surprise!

It is a happy organizing problem to have, but a problem nonetheless.  Garbage bags full of fabric are not conducive to the creative process, so I started filing away my fabric and am so pleased with the results.

I use a ratty old file folder and smooth the fabric out to the size of the folder.  Then I wrap it up and pin it so it doesn’t come off the “bolt”.  I can see the edge to find the right color.

IMG_1104

This has also allowed me to organize fabric by type.  Each fabric has its own box.  I also fold the clothes I repurpose much like you would fold clothes in a drawer.

IMG_1103

The fabric is the most straightforward storage in my craft room.  It’s the items I repurpose that become challenging.  But that is a post for another day…stay tuned.

One thought on “File it away…smart fabric storage

  1. Pingback: Craft Room Update | Portage Trail Barn

Comments are closed.